Alabama Criminal Defense Lawyer

Weapons Offenses


When most people think of weapon laws, they immediately think of firearms. Laws are in place to control firearms, and there are other types of weapons that the state of Alabama has laws in place for as well. While these laws exist to make the streets of Alabama safer, they’re primarily written to govern a person’s right to own certain types of weapons.

Charged with a crime in Alabama? Please call (888) 632-5650.
call_now

Alabama Weapon Laws

One of the most popular topics of discussion amongst hunters and gun enthusiasts is the ability to carry a concealed weapon. Every state has a different set of laws that govern who is allowed to carry a weapon, where they can carry it, and whether it can be concealed or open carry.

The concealed weapons law in Alabama says that any person who carries any type of weapon, whether it be a bowie knife, knife, gun, or other type of instrument concealed without express permission is in violation of the law. This means that unless one has special privileges to have on your person any type of weapon and you have one hidden in your clothes or anywhere on your person, you could face weapons charges.

It is also illegal in Alabama to have a slingshot or a pair of brass knuckles concealed anywhere on your person. You are not permitted by the law to brandish a rifle or shotgun walking cane in public. Alabama also has strict laws in place to control how firearms are sold. For example, it is against the law to sell a firearm or any type of knife to someone who is still considered a minor.

Alabama law also makes it illegal for any individuals to use a firearm in an occupied or unoccupied building. The law explicitly states that any individual who discharges a firearm, any type of explosive, or a weapon that discharges a dangerous projectile into either an occupied or unoccupied railroad car, aircraft, automobile, truck, or watercraft can face criminal charges. This offense is a Class C felony.

Penalties for Weapons Violations

The penalties that exist in Alabama for weapons violations vary depending on the type of weapon, whether or not the weapon was used, and if the weapon was concealed or not. The penalty for carrying a concealed weapon in the state of Alabama comes with a possible penalty of 6 months in county jail or hard labor. There is also a fine that can range between $50 and $500 depending on the circumstances of the violation.

Individuals convicted of selling a weapon to a minor can be fined anywhere from $50 to $500 for their violation. There is no direct jail sentence for this particular weapons violation.

Discharging a firearm is a Class C felony. Violators convicted of a Class C felony could face up to 10 years in prison and a fine of $15,000.

Legal Defense Strategies for Weapons Offenses

Having an attorney is essential if you have been charged with a weapons offense. A good lawyer can go over the evidence of the case and build a defense around trying to find an exception to the weapons law you are being charged with violating. Your attorney can stress that no one was in immediate danger of injury or death or that you possessed the weapon on your own property. A solid defense can lessen your sentence or even prevent you from becoming convicted for this offense.