Alabama Criminal Defense Lawyer

Sexual Offenses


Each state in America, including Alabama, has drafted up a set of laws to try and protect people from becoming victims of sexually related crimes. Individuals who have been charged with sex offenses face penalties such as prison time if found guilty of a sexual offense.

Charged with a crime in Alabama? Please call (888) 632-5650.
call_now

Alabama Sex Offense Laws

There are several different types of sex offense laws in Alabama. The first type deals with rape. This category is split up into different degrees. Rape in the first degree occurs when a person engages in sexual intercourse with a person of the opposite sex by force or compulsion. You can also be charged with rape in the first degree if the individual is incapacitated or incapable of consenting to the act. This charge can also be filed against a person who is 16 years old and engages in sexual intercourse with someone who is less than 12 years of age. In Alabama, rape in the first degree is a Class A felony offense.

The next category of rape is rape in the second degree. This offense is a Class B felony. A person commits rape in the second degree if they are 16 years of age and engage in sexual intercourse with a person of the opposite sex who is less than 16 years old, but older than 12 years of age. The individual being charged must be at least two years older than the individual of the opposite sex. You can also be charged with rape in the second degree for engaging in sexual intercourse with someone who has a mental defect or deficiency, as this person is deemed incapacitated to consent to the act.

Another type of sexual offense is sexual abuse in the first degree. Sexual abuse in the first degree is a Class C felony offense. You can be charged with sexual abuse in the first degree if you force another person into some type of sexual contact. You can also be charged with this offense if the victim is not able to consent to the sexual contact because they are physically or mentally incapacitated.

Sexual abuse in the second degree is committed when an individual forcibly subjects another person to some type of sexual contact who is not able to consent by some factor outside of being under 16 years old. You can be charged if you are 19 and the victim subjected to sexual contact is less than 16, but older than 12.

Penalties for Sex Offenses

Rape in the first degree is a Class A felony. This felony is punishable by up to 99 years in jail and a $60,000 fine.

Rape in the second degree is a Class B felony that carries a possible 20 year prison sentence and a $30,000 fine.

Sexual abuse in the first degree is a Class C felony with a sentence of 10 years maximum and a $15,000 fine.

Legal Representation

If you are being charged with a sex offense it is important to hire a good defense attorney to represent your case. An attorney can build a case that could cast doubt on DNA evidence presented by the prosecution to help reduce your sentence or have charges dismissed. If proven guilty, defense attorneys can also cut plea bargains that could reduce your sentence or help you avoid registering as a sex offender if applicable to your charge.