Alabama Criminal Defense Lawyer

Driving with a Suspended License


Losing your driver’s license can cause a lot of major inconveniences in your life. For example, you will have to find new means for transportation to get to work, the grocery store, and doctor appointments. It can make socializing a bit more awkward and difficult as you will have to rely on other people to pick you up and take you places to meet with friends.

Charged with a crime in Alabama? Please call (888) 632-5650.
call_now

It can be extremely incontinent and slightly embarrassing as you no longer have freedom to get around on your own. While this may seem like a steep penalty, it is a small one compared to the penalties for continuing to drive without a valid driver’s license.

Alabama Suspended License Laws

There are a lot of different ways an individual can end up having their license suspended for a period of time. Driver’s licenses in Alabama have a point system. If you get a certain amount of points in a specific amount of time, you can end up getting your license suspended. The total points you can accumulate on your Alabama driver’s licenses is 12 in a two year period of time. If you exceed this limit, according to Alabama law, your license will be taken away for a period of 2 months or more. If you rack up more than 18 points in a two year period your license will come under suspension for at least 120 days.

Another way people can lose their license in Alabama is by driving under the influence of alcohol. In Alabama the legal blood alcohol limit is .08%. If you exceed this, you will be charged with a DUI. This will result in the loss of your license for a length of the time. The length of the suspension is largely based on how many DUI offenses you have and how severe the offense was in the first place.

It is also against the law in Alabama to drive a vehicle without having insurance. If you are pulled over for a traffic stop and cannot provide adequate proof that your vehicle is properly insured, you will lose your license. Your license can also be suspended if you are pulled over and do not have your driver’s license with you.

Penalties for Driving with a Suspended License

Driving with a suspended driver’s license in the state of Alabama can result in some pretty stiff penalties. If you are operating a vehicle with a suspended license and do something to get pulled over by a law enforcement officer, you can be charged with driving with a suspended license.

If convicted of driving with a suspended license, it can lead to an increase in the time for which your license is suspended. The extended length of time will depend largely on the situation and the judge presiding over your case. Driving with a suspended license can also get you locked up in jail. The maximum jail sentence you could face for driving with a suspended license is 5 years.

Benefits of Hiring a Lawyer

If you have been caught driving with a suspended license, you need to contact a lawyer immediately. Many lawyers specialize in these types of cases, and they can help you develop defense strategies geared at making sure you receive a fair trial and possibly avoid having your license taken away for an even longer period. One of the most used defense strategies is building a case that the individual was not properly notified of when the license suspension took place. Another defense strategy is casting doubt that the individual on trial was really the individual operating the vehicle.